Posted by: itsleisa | 09/13/2011

7 Weeks of Paleo

I tell you what, there is one thing I don’t do, and that is give up. Get stopped, discouraged, sidetracked, distracted and otherwise engaged, yes. But give up no. Need proof? I’m baaaaack here after a year, and still on my quest for 15 new favorite fat-burning foods.

This time I am doing a 7-week Paleo challenge sponsored by Level 4 Crossfit Seattle. On Saturday, we had a good intro to Paleo presentation, and took our ‘before’ pictures. (I will post mine as soon as I can get copies.) Started the challenge on Monday, September 12, 2011, and it goes for 7 weeks.

So far, I am really enjoying the resources and recipes that I have found, and I’m excited to see how it will unfold for me fat-burning-wise, so it inspired me to come back over here and share my journey.

Here’s what I ate yesterday:

Breakfast: 6 slices bacon
Lunch: 4 oz beef loin and 1/2 cup each broccoli and cauliflower (thank you Microsoft cafeteria #4)
Snack: Almonds & walnuts with a little raw shredded coconut
Dinner: Mini-meatloaf (containing eggs, onion & spinach) – I made 4, so now I have easy grab & go lunch/dinner. Next time, I will use 2lbs of beef and make 8. They are that good. This is one of My 15 Faves. I will add the recipe shortly.
Cheat: oops, almost forgot this, but if I’m gonna keep track, I might as well be honest – 2 caramel squares. Nothing fancy. Just the old-fashioned kind. My neighborhood grocery has them on the counter at 10 cents a piece. That little ‘treat’ is going to be a tough one to break.

Result? First off, I was never hungry and didn’t feel deprived (although my office-mates french fries did look tempting) I weigh-in every morning, and I am down 2 lbs from yesterday. Wahoo! I don’t begin to imagine that is fat-loss, especially since I did a couple days of carb-loading as a sweet farewell to some of my favorites (pasta, pastry and the like). Even so, it is nice to see a little movement as inspiration to keep going.

I also made a wonderful veggie soup that is perfect for anytime snacking. Has celery, carrots, green beans, cabbage, kale, tomatoes, wonderful seasonings, and my extra special secret ingredient that gives it a unique and tasty kick. Stay tuned, and when I share that recipe, I may even tell what it is.

So, because of my shopping and cooking yesterday, food for today is set and ready to go. Next up is getting the workouts fit into my schedule.

I hope you will subscribe and/or visit back often. I plan to add more recipes and lots more Paleo resources as I find them. Also, I would love to hear your comments.

Leave a Reply

Categories

