Posted by: itsleisa | 10/21/2009

And sometimes you just have to do what you said

Starting point: 10/19/2009

I'm smiling, but it doesn't mean I like it.

I'm smiling, but that's because I'm looking at the photographer, not the picture.

Alrighty then, I said I would post pictures and here they are. There is a whole bunch I could say, like smart-assy comments about what I don’t like about these pictures, or about how much I didn’t want to do this, and why I think it is a really bad idea. But the bottom line is – I said I’d do it, I did it, it’s done. And that’s something.

Now the point is to be able to show some progress in the coming weeks. I haven’t posted my goals yet because I am still kind of going back and forth on what I want to say. You know, once it’s out there on the Internets, there is no taking it back. So, I want to settle on something that feels right for me. Something that will be an accomplishment, a real, visible achievment, but also something that seems possible to my monkey-mind.

I am not one of those people – much as I admire them and wish I were – who can say something impossible, and then just go all out to get it done. No. Whenever I try to do that the little voices in my head (no snickering, you have them too) start throwing a tizzy fit with lots of commentary that ulitmately ends in something like “well, it’s impossible anyway, so why even try?”

This is the kind of photo that really makes me appreciate clothes.

This is the kind of photo that really makes me appreciate clothes.

So I learned a long time ago that for me, the goal has to sound and seem in some way doable. But it also has to be a stretch and a challenge, or it won’t call forth any new thinking, learning, action, or ingenuity.

My initial goal when I started back in June was, and still is – wearing size 10 clothes comfortably.But I also want a weight loss (or as I prefer to think of it, a fat burning) goal.

Ok, wait, – it just came to me. There are 12 weeks until my birthday. I want to lose the next 15 pounds on or before January 5. I will. That’s a goal that is doable, will be an achievement, and even though a little over 1 lb per week may not sound aggressive, remember, I have a 10-day vacation, plus Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Day holidays in there. (Better stop now before I talk myself out of it.)

No, ok. That’s it – down 15 by January 5. My plan is to post new pictures every 2-4 weeks.

Responses

  1. Hey Leisa, your energy and commitment to achieving your fitness dream is contagious. I thought of you yesterday as I jumped on the stair master for the first time. I am typically an olyptacle girl, but Robb challenged me to take on the stairs and away I went. Half an hour later my thighs were burning. Thanks for the inspiration.


Leave a Reply

Categories

