Posted by: itsleisa | 08/29/2010

I should be embarrassed – if I listened to Lizard Brain, that is

Don’t know how many of you are familiar with the Lizard Brain. I will leave some links at the bottom if you want to find out more, but the short and sweet version is – it’s a part of your brain built for survival only, and it’s no friend to living your dreams or creating breakthroughs.

So, if I was listening to Lizard Brain (or LB for short, as my dear friend and kick-ass coach and blogger Sandi calls it) I wouldn’t be writing at all. Why? Well, ’cause I started this blog almost 11 months ago.  I got some wonderful response and feedback, and then I just Let. It. Die. Out. Ugh.  Makes me feel silly, stupid, embarrassed and wanting to hide out some more. LB says “just let it go, if you don’t say anything, no one will notice” “probably wasn’t really for you anyway – nice try though” (that’s kinder, gentler LB).

I’m not listening though. Why? Cause I do have something to say and do here. Lots of somethings. So, without further preamble, let it be known – 15FaveFoods is back, rekindled, revived. And yes, I have said that before and fizzled (see, here is where LB really wants to kick in). And, yes, I’m saying so again, with every intention to shine rather than fizzle.

New Fave Food

This great tip was shared with me by Susan of the X Gym Flight Club (that’s an informal group of stair climbing enthusiasts in Seattle).

A main focus of 15FaveFoods is “get ‘yer protein in” – so I am always looking for ways to get up and over 100 grams of protein per day. Here’s Susan’s tip, and I LOVE it!

Coffee Lover’s Protein Latte

  • 8-12 oz coffee
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • dash of cinnamon to taste
  • Whiz it up with a hand mixer (stirring won’t work – lumpy, ugh)

Y u m m y! If you love coffee, and you want more protein, skip the calories and carbs of a regular latte and give this a try. You can even use chocolate protein powder for a mocha flavor. It’s going on my ‘have it everyday’ list.

Watch for these coming updates

  • My fitness countdown to a birthday milestone
  • Stairwell Chronicles – Tales of an unlikely stair-climbing enthusiast

Explore further

Responses

  1. My old pal LB has had years of experience stopping me from reaching my goals around health and fitness.

    Like you, I’m going to speak what I want out loud one more time! I am going to sign up for Tai Chi classes this month (been thinkin’ about it for years!) and get started.

    AND I’m trying this shake tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

